Skip to content ↓

Year 10

Year 10

ICT & Computer Science

In Year 10, the students have the option to progress to OCR Cambridge Nationals in ICT or a GCSE in Computer Science.

ICT Overview

In ICT student will need to complete four equally weighted units in total, in order to achieve the Level 2 qualification, equivalent to one GCSE. In Year 10, the students will complete 2 units and will complete two further units in Year 11.

Computing GCSE overview

Students who have chosen computer science will be entered for the OCR GCSE Specification (J276). The qualification is assessed through external examinations and controlled assessment. Students will need to complete the following three units over the course of  two years;

  • Computer systems (01). Assessed through external examination worth 40% of their GCSE.
  • Computational thinking, algorithms and programming (02). Externalled assessed and also worth 40% of their GCSE.

They will also complete Non-Exam Assessment (NEA) Programming project (03/04) in year 11 ONLY. This is worth 20% of their GCSE.

Course specification

OCR   J810             Level 1/2 Cambridge National Certificate in ICT

OCR   J276            GCSE  Computer Science (9-1)

Useful websites

(Cambridge Nationals) (Computer Science GCSE)                    

Contact: Head of ICT & Computing department:  Mrs S Kerai